What to read if you loved Where the Crawdads Sing

So no doubt you have heard about the Reese Witherspoon recommended read Where the Crawdads sing, Delia Owens debut novel as it has been on the New York bestseller list for over 20 weeks.  

If you haven’t, then my review can be found here and it might persuade you to get reading.  If you are still on the waiting list or have read the book, loved it and want something like it then this list if for you.

Sold on A Monday

"2 Children for sale." Is the sign that sits on a farmhouse porch in 1931 and for struggling reporter Ellis Reed, the gut-wrenching scene evokes memories of his family's dark past and he takes a photograph of the children with unwitting consequences.

Beasts of Extraordinary Circumstance

Like Owen’s main character Kya, Weylan Grey lives in seclusion deep in the forest with his pet pig, Merlin.  He saves a young girl from being attacked by wolves which changes both their lives forever.  Intrigued? Definitely one for my TBR list.

Where the Line Bleeds

Don’t let the fact this is in Large Print phase you, it will just be easier to read.  This is another debut novel and Ward has gone on to write many more bestsellers.  This is about twins, Joshua and Christophe, and their struggle to fend for themselves, surrounded by bad parents, poverty and hard life choices.  So if Kya’s struggle resonated with you this novel will too.

Swamplandia!

Karen Russell is a Pulitzer Prize finalist and has a very different writing style to Owens, but this novel is about a girl living in a swamp with a completely dysfunctional family so definitely becomes part of this list!

The Marsh King's Daughter

Where the Crawdads Sing has a mystery at the heart of the story and Dionne’s novel has all these ingredients – a mystery at the heart, a story of growing up in isolation in a cabin in the woods, a kidnapping, a prison escape and a search.  Hooked yet?

Let's No One Get Hurt

Poverty and privilege in the American South form the backdrop for this story of Pearl, squatting with her father on land not their own.

Magic Hour

This novel is about a lost 6 year old girl, found wandering out of the woods in the Pacific Northwest and the search to find where she came from.

Himself

This one makes the list because if is about an orphan searching for his mother, and an investigation into a possible crime.  Quite a different approach as it also includes the supernatural but it is intriguing enough to make it to my TBR pile.

Unsheltered

A novel told in two time zones 150 years apart it explores poverty, families and isolation.  Award winning Kingsolver is always an author that engages our emotions.

The Barrowfields

A coming of age story with a dysfunctional family, a small town life, a father unravelling – all a reason to run.  But this son must return and face his history.

We welcome your respectful and on-topic comments and questions in this limited public forum. To find out more, please see Appropriate Use When Posting Content. Community-contributed content represents the views of the user, not those of Yarra Plenty Regional Library