The Mont Park to Springthorpe Heritage Project has developed a sixth walk to add to their suite of heritage walks around the Macleod precinct. These and other walks can be accessed via Walking Maps The latest walk features the Victoria Cross Estate near the old Mont Park asylum/hospital area. Learn more about the men remembered in the Street names.
The Victoria Cross Estate west of the Macleod station, presents a unique walking opportunity around streets which commemorate ten veterans from WWI and WWII. Captain Albert Jacka VC (1893 – 1932) is probably the most famous of the Victorian and Tasmanian veterans remembered here. Read his story and those of the other men at the Information Boards near the ‘Lone Pine’ tree.
The age of the homes varies from the 1926 shop and residence at the corner of Cherry St and McNamara St, to million-dollar homes and new blocks of units. Behind most blocks there are laneways which were used for the ‘night soil’ collection before Macleod (then ‘North Heidelberg’) was sewered in the 1960s. See if you can spot the remaining laneways which led to backyard ‘thunder boxes’.
Park in Macleod Parade which is named after Malcolm and Edith Macleod who owned this land from 1903 to 1910. They lived at Strathalan House on the hill, which is still evident in the Baptcare Strathalan Community Complex. Enjoy this 40-minute Macleod Heritage Walk soon.