Local History Month

Yarra Plenty Regional Library celebrates ten years of Local History month programming in 2017.   Through our collections and programs we aim to educate, inspire and connect the community with its history.

This October explore the rich history of your local community through an extended number of tours and walks which will provide the opportunity to explore our local neighbourhoods.

Meet local historians with a passion to share the stories of our local community from Mernda to the Yarra River.   Enjoy displays and a special book launch.

Highlights include:

Changing Face of Rosanna exhibition through out October – Rosanna Library

Local History Bingo – Eltham Library Tues 3 October 7.00pm – 8.00pm

History of Watsonia  - Watsonia Library Wed 4 October 11.00am – 12noon

Migration stories from Banyule (Book Launch) – Watsonia Library Saturday 7 October 2.00pm - 4.00pm

Ivanhoe Heritage Walk – Ivanhoe Library Thursday 12 October 10.30am – 12.30pm (Bookings required)

Springthorpe LaTrobe History Project – Mill Park Library Mon 16 October 1.00pm – 3.00 pm

A trip down the Yarra – Watsonia 17 October 10.30am – 11.30am

Passengers on the David Clark Eltham Library Tues 17 October 7.00pm – 8.00pm

Trove Tips – Mill Park Library Friday 20 October 11.00am – 12 noon

Australian Indian History – Diamond Valley Library Wed 25 October 2.00pm – 3.00pm

Murder at the Mountain Rush – Whittlesea Library Sat 21 October 11.00am – 12.00 noon

Lalor Living History Walk - Lalor Library Saturday 28 October 11.00am - 12.00 noon

Thomas Family of Mernda – Whittlesea Library Monday 30 October 11.30am – 12.30pm

History of Banyule – Rosanna Library Tuesday 31 October 11.00am – 12noon

And more... Check out what is happening at your local library.

We welcome your respectful and on-topic comments and questions in this limited public forum. To find out more, please see Appropriate Use When Posting Content. Community-contributed content represents the views of the user, not those of Yarra Plenty Regional Library